Time to Prep – Friday the 13th, February 2015

Goodness, this semester is kicking my butt. I have so much on my plate that even food prep does not calm me. I will attempt to follow up with these, but mostly the slow cooker freezer meals aspect of this blog has been reduced to “these are recipes that I have found and prepped.” I started this with the idea to follow up and give my take on the meals. So I’m implementing a “How Did It Turn Out” or “HDITO” instead of “What’s In My Slow Cooker” or “WIMSC”. I think that this gives me a bit more leeway in posting the actual result. We’ll see. Meanwhile, in prep world:

Chipotle Stout Chili

chipotle stout chili

Recipe found here: http://littleleopardbook.com/2014/10/02/chipotle-stout-crock-pot-chili/

I ended up using pinto beans, as we were out of kidney beans. This will likely deter from this dish, as dark red kidney beans seem perfection for it. Also, I had a couple spills from the bag as I was getting it all together, I lost about a cup and a half of liquid.  That is definitely going to affect the taste of the meal, I’m still trying to figure out what to do to fix it… maybe tomato broth and a bit more of the ancho chile sauce. I did add a dash of liquid smoke.

Mongolian Beef

mongolian beef

Recipe found here: http://onceamonthmeals.com/crockpot-mongolian-beef/

My hopes are not super-high for this recipe. Morgan chose this one, but I think we’d be better off taking the flavor profile from our previous stir-fry and adding a bit of brown sugar for that “mongolian” flavor.  We’ll see.

Winter Minestrone

winter minestrone

Recipe found here: http://onceamonthmeals.com/slow-cooker-winter-minestrone/

Even my grumpy self can get excited for this. I opted for tomato bullion instead of vegetable broth and got some black rice instead of wild (could not find wild, probably wouldn’t have been able to afford it), but I think this will be awesome for the snow storm that is allegedly headed our way.

Thanks for hanging in, guys. Now, to transcribe the latest Time with Ty.

Leave a Reply

