Craveables – Green Chile Cheese Puffs

chileingredients

A while back, this new sushi place opened up in Albuquerque. Morgan and I , of course, jumped on this place shortly after they opened. They had this appetizer that I’ve been craving ever since we tried it – I believed it was called chile puffs. Think green chile tempura. It’s heavenly. So, today I had a crippling craving for those things as I have most days for the last week. Being New Mexican, the drawer in my freezer is full of green chile, so I decided to try to find a comparable recipe that does not require deep frying. I came across this:

http://therunawayspoon.com/blog/2011/02/green-chile-cheese-puffs/

I used what I had on hand, which was slightly less cheese than recommended and some previously frozen roasted green chiles (which I pretty much just eyeballed as far as getting 8oz). I did not manage to get 24 golf ball sized balls of delicious, delicious dough, I only managed 11 (then again, I have never played golf, so my idea of what qualifies as “golf ball size” might be skewed).

precooking

Using recipes for baking is a little rough at a high altitude, as it typically takes longer and requires constant checking. I took mine out at 25 minutes of baking time and they were still a touch underdone.

cooked

All in all, I thought they were quite good, especially for such an easy recipe. For my own tastes, I would add 1/2 tsp of garlic salt (or garlic powder, if you’re not as into salt as a woman who constantly eats sunflower seeds). The green chile was wonderful, just enough bite and cut by the sharp cheddar in a way that I adore. I will definitely do this recipe again, just fine tune a bit for my own tastes and altitude.

Leave a Reply

