Introduction and Cakies

Meet Me:

weird

I am 29 years old, married four years in one month and ten days, mother to an almost 3-year-old spitfire daughter, student pursuing Diagnostic Medical Sonography. I have three dogs on the big-side and a house in the mountains. I love to cook, I enjoy gardening, and I play the cello.

I started doing the freezer slow-cooker meals because I hated having to tell my daughter “not right now, I’ve got something on the stove.” We are fortunate in that we have family that typically watch my daughter on Sundays, which helps me have a few hours of uninterrupted prep time, but even if that falls through, it’s much easier to leave prep than it is to leave anything currently cooking. Plus, with a slow-cooker, a few minutes longer never hurts the meal.

I decided to start this blog after months of doing these meals and having difficulty finding ones to fit what I think should be involved with a Slow Cooker Freezer Meal (or even just a Freezer Meal or a Prepped Meal). Sure, sometimes I just want to cook, which is okay, but I’d like to go into these meals knowing what needs to happen beyond chopping, labeling, and bagging. So, I will give you all my links, things I had to take into consideration, and my notes, plus a follow-up on how everyone enjoyed the meal (pictures when I can… which should be often, but I literally just decided to do this about half-way through my last batch of meals).

Cakies

Cakies

Cakies are essentially a cake-textured cookie. They’re my go-to cookie, adapted from this recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cinnamon-Chocolate-Chip-Cookies/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=cinnamon%20chocolate%20chip%20cookies&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page&soid=sr_results_p1i1

Cakies

3 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground cloves

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup butter, melted

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2-3/4 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Combine flour, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda in a medium bowl.

Beat butter and sugar (I do it with a spoon) in a large bowl until incorporated. Beat eggs, one at a time, into the mixture. Mix in vanilla. Mix flour mixture in slowly, then add chocolate chips and incorporate.

Grease cookie sheet, then hand roll 1-2″ balls of cookie dough, place on cookie sheet. Bake 10-15 minutes (check at 10) until golden grown on bottom and cracks show on top.

Leave a Reply

